Key details...

Cost: $2,695 (inc. gst)

Duration: 4.5 Days

PD Points: 36

Qualifications: AU TL EM

About the course...

With the 2015 revision of ISO 14001 now released, it is a great time to learn how to implement the new approaches ahead of your next audit, or in anticipation of transitioning to your new risk-based system.  

This course is for those who require full knowledge of how to conduct an audit of an environmental management system. Ideally suited to those who have to develop, implement, maintain, improve, manage, or audit environmental systems, our Environmental Management Systems Lead Auditor course will leave you ready to hit the ground running.

This course has the equivalent of 36 Professional Development (PD) points.

Our training is different because...

No Homework or take-home assessment.

Internationally recognised courses.

Trainers are practising audit professionals.

All Learning materials and refreshments provided.

Certificates are issued promptly upon the completion of the course.

We never cancel a course - enrol with confidence.

Secure your place now

Book now

Course overview...

This is a very popular and practical course, and after successful completion you will have a thorough understanding of:

  • The principles and procedures of auditing
  • Auditor roles and responsibilities 
  • The benefits of a risk-based audit programme
  • How to plan an effective audit
    • Timetabling 
    • Resource allocation
  • Interpersonal skills and personal behaviours of an auditor
  • How to conduct effective opening and closing meetings 
  • Preparing and distributing an audit report  
  • New risk-based thinking and its application to modern management systems
  • The process approach and its benefits to business
  • Life-cycle assessment and its implications for an organisation’s environmental aspects

Module

The course is divided into two flexible modules, enabling you to attend both modules in the one week, or spread across different sessions. The first 2-day module is equivalent to our ‘Becoming a Skilled Lead Internal/External Auditor’ course, where you will learn to conduct a management systems audit. The second module covers the requirements of an Environmental management system.

Timetable

Monday

Management Systems Auditing – preparation
  • What is auditing?
  • Roles and responsibilities of an auditor and an audit team leader
  • The 6 principles of auditing from ISO 19011
  • Effective audit planning and timetabling
  • Communication skills, interview techniques, and useful questioning methods
  • Setting appropriate audit objectives, scope, and criteria
  • Developing audit checklists

Tuesday

Management Systems Auditing – the audit
  • Conducting an opening meeting
  • Identifying objective evidence and taking good notes
  • Reviewing auditing scenarios
  • Writing audit findings including nonconformities and non-compliances
  • Presenting a closing meeting
  • Compiling a meaningful audit report

Wednesday

Management systems – what are they?
  • History of ISO and the high level structure
  • Organisational context – external and internal 
  • Customers, workers, the community, and shareholders
  • Risk-based thinking, the process approach
  • Modern management systems
  • ISO 9001:2015 as underpinning knowledge for ISO 14001

Thursday

Environmental Management Systems
  • Enhanced environmental performance
  • Risk-based environmental aspects and impacts
  • Life cycle assessment 
  • Requirements of ISO 14001:2015
  • Auditing against ISO 14001:2015
  • Finish at 12.30pm

Friday

Auditing scenarios
  • Review of Environmental Management System requirements
  • EMS audit scenarios
  • Writing up findings
  • Course review

Upon successful completion of the course, you will receive a Certificate of Attainment which identifies the following 3 Exemplar Global competencies:

  1. Exemplar Global AU – Management Systems Auditing
  2. Exemplar Global TL – Leading management systems audit teams
  3. Exemplar Global EM – Environmental management systems

This course has the equivalent of 36 Professional Development (PD) points.

There are no prerequisites for this course.

Throughout the course, you will complete a series of workshops which form the bulk of the assessment. A short multiple-choice exam at the completion of each module confirms the knowledge and understanding gained. You will receive continual assistance and feedback from the trainer.

No homework or take-home assessment!

Designed to cater to people involved in auditing, system development or system maintenance, you should attend if you:

  • want to become an EMS internal auditor
  • want to become a 3rd party EMS auditor
  • need to write and implement an EMS
  • are involved in the Environmental management processes
  • are a manager responsible for your EMS and EMS auditing
  • wish to consolidate your existing knowledge into a formal qualification

Prior experience in auditing and management systems is not required.  

Competencies for Food Safety Management Systems (CODEX, HACCP and ISO 22000) may be attended separately.

If you wish to become a registered third-party, or external Environmental Management Systems auditor with Exemplar Global, completing this course is the first step. Once you have obtained the Exemplar Global competencies from this course, you can follow either a qualification-based, or competency-based certification path. A full explanation of the requirements to become certified with Exemplar Global can be found here, or contact us for more information.

PwC offers an easy, streamlined enrolment process – you can either enrol directly into your course online, or call Brock or Carrie on 1300 95 96 92 to enrol over the phone.

Investment

Price

$2,695 (incl gst) per attendee.

Discounts for multiple attendees are available.

How to pay

We offer a variety of payment methods:

  • Direct debit
  • Credit card
  • Cheque
  • Payment plans

Payment plans

We are able to arrange flexible payment plans on an individual basis. Please be aware that your certificate will be held until full payment has been received.

Public – face-to-face

Our regular public courses are conducted in capital cities and key regional centres in Australia and New Zealand. You will enjoy an excellent learning experience in a premium training venue, and:

  • Class sizes are kept to manageable numbers – so everybody learns
  • No homework or take-home assessment! All work is completed in course time – we know you’re busy
  • No major exam – we assess you as you go

Our public training courses are valuable opportunities for professional development and networking. They are also the perfect way to convert your current experience into formal qualifications for either career advancement or a complete career change.

Our Trainers are practising auditors and experts in their field. They deliver practical and real world auditing experiences.

In-house

In-house training can provide cost-effective training solutions for organisations with multiple staff members who require training. We can also customise a course to suit your own individual needs, and include your own audit documentation.

Contact Brock or Carrie on 1300 95 96 92 for a quote and to discuss your individual training needs.

PwC's Auditor Training & Certification

Secure your place now and pay later

Book now
Worker on construction site

“This was one of the best training courses I have been on. Tom was engaging and kept the information relevant.”

“Many thanks Tom, I really enjoyed the course and will get a lot of use from it at my workplace.”

Course Dates

Only 2 for 1 courses
Only 2 for 1 courses
Sort Location Start Finish Duration
Brisbane Mon 23 Oct 2017 Fri 27 Oct 2017 4.5 Day(s) Book now
Melbourne Mon 23 Oct 2017 Fri 27 Oct 2017 4.5 Day(s) Book now
Auckland Mon 30 Oct 2017 Fri 03 Nov 2017 4.5 Day(s) Book now
Darwin Mon 06 Nov 2017 Fri 10 Nov 2017 4.5 Day(s) Book now
Perth Mon 20 Nov 2017 Fri 24 Nov 2017 4.5 Day(s) Book now
Brisbane Mon 04 Dec 2017 Fri 08 Dec 2017 4.5 Day(s) Book now
Melbourne Mon 04 Dec 2017 Fri 08 Dec 2017 4.5 Day(s) Book now
Canberra Mon 04 Dec 2017 Fri 08 Dec 2017 4.5 Day(s) Book now
Sydney Mon 11 Dec 2017 Fri 15 Dec 2017 4.5 Day(s) Book now
Brisbane Mon 05 Feb 2018 Fri 09 Feb 2018 4.5 Day(s) Book now
Sydney Mon 12 Feb 2018 Fri 16 Feb 2018 4.5 Day(s) Book now
Melbourne Mon 19 Feb 2018 Fri 23 Feb 2018 4.5 Day(s) Book now
Perth Mon 26 Feb 2018 Fri 02 Mar 2018 4.5 Day(s) Book now
Canberra Mon 05 Mar 2018 Fri 09 Mar 2018 4.5 Day(s) Book now
Auckland Mon 12 Mar 2018 Fri 16 Mar 2018 4.5 Day(s) Book now
Adelaide Mon 19 Mar 2018 Fri 23 Mar 2018 4.5 Day(s) Book now
Brisbane Mon 19 Mar 2018 Fri 23 Mar 2018 4.5 Day(s) Book now
Sydney Mon 09 Apr 2018 Fri 13 Apr 2018 4.5 Day(s) Book now
Melbourne Mon 16 Apr 2018 Fri 20 Apr 2018 4.5 Day(s) Book now
Brisbane Mon 30 Apr 2018 Fri 04 May 2018 4.5 Day(s) Book now
Darwin Mon 21 May 2018 Fri 25 May 2018 4.5 Day(s) Book now
Perth Mon 21 May 2018 Fri 25 May 2018 4.5 Day(s) Book now
Sydney Mon 04 Jun 2018 Fri 08 Jun 2018 4.5 Day(s) Book now
Brisbane Mon 18 Jun 2018 Fri 22 Jun 2018 4.5 Day(s) Book now
Canberra Mon 18 Jun 2018 Fri 22 Jun 2018 4.5 Day(s) Book now
Melbourne Mon 25 Jun 2018 Fri 29 Jun 2018 4.5 Day(s) Book now
Auckland Mon 23 Jul 2018 Fri 27 Jul 2018 4.5 Day(s) Book now
Brisbane Mon 30 Jul 2018 Fri 03 Aug 2018 4.5 Day(s) Book now
Perth Mon 30 Jul 2018 Fri 03 Aug 2018 4.5 Day(s) Book now
Sydney Mon 06 Aug 2018 Fri 10 Aug 2018 4.5 Day(s) Book now
Melbourne Mon 20 Aug 2018 Fri 24 Aug 2018 4.5 Day(s) Book now
Canberra Mon 10 Sep 2018 Fri 14 Sep 2018 4.5 Day(s) Book now
Brisbane Mon 17 Sep 2018 Fri 21 Sep 2018 4.5 Day(s) Book now
Adelaide Mon 17 Sep 2018 Fri 21 Sep 2018 4.5 Day(s) Book now
Perth Mon 08 Oct 2018 Fri 12 Oct 2018 4.5 Day(s) Book now
Sydney Mon 15 Oct 2018 Fri 19 Oct 2018 4.5 Day(s) Book now
Melbourne Mon 22 Oct 2018 Fri 26 Oct 2018 4.5 Day(s) Book now
Brisbane Mon 29 Oct 2018 Fri 02 Nov 2018 4.5 Day(s) Book now
Darwin Mon 19 Nov 2018 Fri 23 Nov 2018 4.5 Day(s) Book now
Auckland Mon 19 Nov 2018 Fri 23 Nov 2018 4.5 Day(s) Book now
Canberra Mon 26 Nov 2018 Fri 30 Nov 2018 4.5 Day(s) Book now
Perth Mon 03 Dec 2018 Fri 07 Dec 2018 4.5 Day(s) Book now
Sydney Mon 03 Dec 2018 Fri 07 Dec 2018 4.5 Day(s) Book now
Brisbane Mon 10 Dec 2018 Fri 14 Dec 2018 4.5 Day(s) Book now
Melbourne Mon 10 Dec 2018 Fri 14 Dec 2018 4.5 Day(s) Book now

There are no search results in your chosen search.
Register and we'll be in touch when courses are available

Register Now

Can't find course dates in your city?

Register and we'll be in touch when courses are available

Register Now

“This was one of the best training courses I have been on. Tom was engaging and kept the information relevant.”

“Many thanks Tom, I really enjoyed the course and will get a lot of use from it at my workplace.”

“Overall very valuable course. Balance of theory with practical workshops was excellent. Trainers stuck to timetable very well.”

“The course was thorough and many relevant examples provided by both Tom and Jackie to help me apply it to the workplace.”

“Great presentation of the course, engaging facilitators and good use of group work. I found the course to be a great refresher for an audit course I did 10 years ago and now feel more motivated to go audits in a non-bow tie way!”

×
Menu